EC meets on parliamentary election schedule

  • Staff Correspondent,
    Published: 2018-11-08 12:38:34 BdST

The Election Commission is holding a daylong meeting to finalise the schedule for the 11th parliamentary election.

Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda is presiding over the meeting. Election commissioners Mahbub Talukdar, Rafiqul Islam, Kabita Khanam, Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury and EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed are present at the meeting.

The meeting that started at the Election Commission in Agargaon at 11am will set the voting date and finalise the cut-off time for the submission and withdrawal of nomination papers and a detailed schedule for the polling day.

CEC Huda will speak on state-run television and radio at 7pm to announce the election schedule. His speech will be recorded before its broadcast.