Positions of 39 registered political parties

  • Senior Correspondent, bdnews24.com
    Published: 2018-11-09 03:12:54 BdST


A total of 39 parties registered by the Election Commission will be able to join the polls with their own logos or under any alliance.

Independent candidates can also contest in the election scheduled for Dec 23.

The 39 registered parties include over two dozen parties from the ruling Awami League-led 14-Party coalition, BNP-led 20-Party Alliance and the Left Democratic Alliance.

Around a dozen other parties are not a part of these alliances but most of them directly or indirectly support the two main political camps.

The Awami League, the Jatiya Party and 10 other registered political parties joined the last general election held on Jan 5, 2014.

The other are the Workers Party of Bangladesh, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-JaSoD, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation, Jatiya Party-JP, Bangladesh Nationalist Front-BNF, Bangladesh National Awami Party, Bangladesh Khelafat Majlish,  Gono Front, Bangladesh Islami Front and Ganatantrik Party.

The total votes five of these parties could together command were below 10,000.

The BNP, its allies and many other parties stayed away from the 2014 elections. These are the Liberal Democratic Party, Bangladesh Jatiya Party-BJP, Islami Andolan Bangladesh, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh, Jamiyate Ulamaye Islam Bangladesh, Jaker Party, Islami Oikya Jote, Jatiya Ganatantrik Party Krishak Sramik Janata League-KSJL, Gono Forum, Communist Party of Bangladesh, Bangladesher Samajtantrik Dal-BaSaD, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-JSD, Bangladesh Kalyan Party, Bangladesh Khelafat Andolan, Progressive Democratic Party, National People’s Party, Bangladesh National Awami Party-NAP, United Citizen Movement, Revolutionary Workers Party, Bangladesh Muslim League, Islami Oikya Front Bangladesh, Bangladesher Samayobadi Dal (ML) and Bangladesh Jatiya Party.

The Awami League and its allies in the ruling coalition and the Jatiya Party have said they would join the elections this time.

The BNP-led 20-Party alliance and the newly formed Jatiya Oikya Front, headed by Gono Forum chief Dr Kamal Hossain, are yet to make it clear whether they will contest in the elections after talks with Awam League chief Sheikh Hasina.

The other registered parties in the Oikya Front are the JSD and KSJL.

AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury-led Bikalpadhara Bangladesh stayed away from the last general elections, but has hinted at joining the upcoming one after talks with Hasina.

The Leftist Democratic Alliance of the CPB, BaSaD and Revolutionary Workers Party are also yet to make up their mind about joining the election.