Wednesday, July 24, 2019

AL picks Shirin Sharmin for Rangpur-6 as Hasina pulls out of the seat

  • Staff Correspondent,
    Published: 2018-12-07 00:13:59 BdST

File Photo: Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury submitting nomination papers in Rangpur on Nov 27.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has pulled out of the race for the Rangpur-6 parliamentary constituency confirming that Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury is the ruling Awami League candidate for the seat.

Hasina handed a letter to Shirin confirming her nomination in presence of other leaders at the Ganabhaban on Thursday, Awami League Joint General Secretary Mahbub-Ul Alam Hanif told

After leaving the seat in Rangpur’s Pirganj, her in-laws’ home, now Bangabandhu’s daughter Hasina has only Gopalganj-3, consisted of her ancestral home Tungipara and Kotalipara, to fight for in the upcoming election. 

While filing the nomination papers of Hasina and herself in Rangpur on Nov 27, Shirin Sharmin told reporters that it was for the party chief to decide who would get nominated.

Hasina was elected MP from both seats in the 2014 polls. She later left the Rangpur constituency and Shirin Sharmin won in the by-election.

The BNP has initially nominated two candidates for the Rangpur seat.