Please select your preferences to subscribe.

Hasina wins Gopalganj-3 as EC releases first full constituency results

  • Staff Correspondent,
    Published: 2018-12-30 20:52:07 BdST

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina flashes a victory sign after casting her ballot in the 11th national parliamentary election. Photo: Saiful Islam Kallol

Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina has won the election to the Gopalganj-3 parliamentary constituency.

It is the first constituency of which the Election Commission released full results on Sunday evening from its Dhaka headquarters after day-long voting in the general election.

Hasina, the winner of the seat consisted of her ancestral home Tungipara and Kotalipara, is seeking an unprecedented fourth term in office as prime minister.

She won 229,529 votes, according to the results announced by EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed. The number of voters in the constituency is 246,514.

SM Zilani, the BNP candidate for the seat, got only 123.

The Awami League’s Md Faruk Khan and Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim are also on course to win the Gopalganj-1 and Gopalganj-2 constituencies, respectively, in the district.