Saturday, October 21, 2017

Dhaka College, six other govt colleges go under Dhaka University

  • Staff Correspondent,
    Published: 2017-02-16 21:04:00 BdST


Seven government colleges in the capital, including Dhaka College, which were under National University, will be affiliated with Dhaka University from now.

The six other colleges are Eden Mohila College, Government Shaheed Suhrawardy College, Kabi Nazrul Government College, Begum Badrunnessa Government Girls' College, Mirpur Government Bangla College, and Government Titumir College.

From now on, Dhaka University will conduct the tests, including those for admission and curricula in the seven colleges. 

National University was in charge of these colleges like other government and private colleges in Bangladesh.

Dhaka University in a statement on Thursday announced the change following an education ministry decision taken on Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina's directive.

These seven colleges are operating with more than 167,000 undergraduate and graduate students, and 1,149 teachers.