Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Ekushey Padak for 17 this year

  • Senior Correspondent,
    Published: 2017-02-20 12:55:52 BdST


Seventeen eminent personalities have received the Ekushey Padak for 2017 for their outstanding contribution in areas they have excelled so far.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina handed over the awards to the recipients at Osmani Auditorium on Monday.

The Ekushey Padak is the second highest civilian award in Bangladesh.

The awards had been announced on Feb 12.

Two journalists, Abdul Momen and Swadesh Roy are among the recipients of the award this year.

The others who received the Ekushey Padak this year are: Professor Sharifa Khatun (for language movement), Shushama Das ( music), Julhas Uddin Ahmed (music), Ustad Azizul Islam (music), Tanvir Mokammel (film), Syed Abdullah Khalid (sculpture), Sara Zaker (acting), Syed Akram Hossain (research), Professor Emeritus Alamgir Mohammad Sirajuddin (education), Jamilur Reza Choudhury (science and technology), Professor Mahmud Hasan (social welfare), Late poet Omar Ali (language and literature), Sukumar Barua (language and literature), Shamim Ara Nipa (dance), and Rahmatullah Al Mahmud Selim (music).