Thursday, May 23, 2019

49 nominations submitted for women’s reserved seats in parliament

  • Senior Correspondent,
    Published: 2019-02-11 18:02:26 BdST


Forty-nine nominations have been submitted for the 50 seats reserved for women in the 11th national parliament.

Though the BNP could have received one seat, in accordance with the rules for allocation, it has been left unfilled because it is unclear whether the party’s MPs will take their seats in parliament.

Members of the ruling Awami League, other parties represented in parliament and an independent candidate have submitted their nominations.

As a limited number of nominations were submitted, the 49 nominees will all receive their seats unopposed if they do not withdraw their nominations by Feb 16.

Awami League Secretary General Obaidul Quader submitted 43 nominations on behalf of his party.

The Jatiya Party has submitted four, the Workers Party one and an independent candidate another.

Monday was the final day to submit nomination papers.

The returning officer handed over the 49 nomination papers to Election Commission Joint Secretary Abul Kashem in the presence of the nominees.

Though Mar 4 was set as the date for voting in the reserve seat election, the limited number of nominees means there is no need for polls.


Aroma Dutta, Suborna Mustafa, Nahid Ijhar Khan, Shabnam Jahan Shila, Shirin Ahmed, Zannatul Bakia, Waseqa Ayesha Khan, Khadizatul Anwar, Fazilatun Nessa, Sheikh Ani Rahman, Advocate Gloria Jharna Sarker, Syeda Zohra Alauddin, Anjum Sultana, Sultana Nadira, Hosne Ara, Rumana Jolly, Umme Fatema Nazma Begum, Habiba Rahman Khan Shefaly, Aporajita Haque, Mosammat Shamima Akter Khanam, Shamsunnahar Bhuyian, Rabeya Alam, Tamanna Nusrat Bubly, Basonti Chakma, Kaniz Fatema Ahmed, Rushema Begum, Nargis Rahman, Monira Sultana, Mosammat Khaleda Khanam, Syeda Rubina Mira, Kazi Kaniz Sultana, Zakia Tabassum, Farida Khanam (Saki), Syeda Rashida Begum, Adiba Anjum Mita, Ferdousi Islam Jessy, Parvin Haque Shikder, Khadeza Nusrat, Zakia Parvin Khanam, Tahmina Begum, Nadia Yasmin, Ratna Ahmed, and Mamata Hena Lovely.


Salma Islam, Masuda M Rashid Chowdhury, Raushon Ara Mannan, and Nazma Akter.


Lutfun Nesa Khan.


Selina Islam