Please select your preferences to subscribe.

Mustafizur makes the ICC ODI Team of the Year 2015

  • Sports Desk,
    Published: 2015-12-02 13:29:08 BdST

Paceman Mustafizur Rahman has become the first ever Bangladeshi cricketer to earn a spot in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

Before this, star allrounder Shakib Al Hasan was named in the ICC Test Team of the Year in 2009.

A player's performance from Sep 18 last year to Sep 13 this year was taken into account for the selection of the 2015 team. 

Mustafizur had taken 18 wickets in only six ODIs in the timeframe.

He made his international debut in a Twenty20 International against Pakistan in April but burst on to the scene in the ODI series against India in June when he grabbed 13 wickets in three matches that included two five-wicket hauls.

The 20-year-old left-arm seamer took five wickets in the first match against India to be adjudged Man-of-the-Match on his debut and went on to pick up six more in the second match to take an unprecedented 11 wickets in his first two matches.

He was impressive again in the historic ODI series win against South Africa as the batsmen had a hard time reading his cutters.

The team selection committee was headed by ICC’s Cricket Committee chairman and India spin legend Anil Kumble.

The panel included former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, former England batsman Mark Butcher, former Australia women’s captain Belinda Clark and Deputy Editor of The Hindu and Sportstar G Viswanath.

South Africa skipper AB de Villiers earned a spot in the ODI Team of the Year for the fourth time in five years and was named captain for the first time.

Kumar Sangakkarra, who had recently retired from international cricket, and his compatriot Tillakaratne Dilshan were selected for the fourth nomination this time while Hashim Amla was nominated for the second time.

Aussie skipper Steven Smith was named after helping Australia to lift their fifth World Cup earlier this year while New Zealand speedstar Trent Boult, too, gained his first nominations alongside teammate Ross Taylor.

The team included four pacers while three of them are left-arm seamers. Mustafizur got Australian Mitchell Stark, Boult and India's Mohammad Shami as his partners while Proteas legspinner Imran Tahir was the only specialist spinner.

ODI Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL) (wk)
AB de Villiers (SA) (capt)
Steven Smith (Aus)
Ross Taylor (NZ)
Trent Boult (NZ)
Mohammed Shami (Ind)
Mitchell Starc (Aus)
Mustafizur Rahman (Bang)
Imran Tahir (SA)
12th man: Joe Root (Eng)