Sunday, October 22, 2017

Mashrafe, Tamim move up in rankings; Bangladesh opener earns place in Champions Trophy team

  • Sports desk,
    Published: 2017-06-19 22:13:08 BdST


Strapping pacer Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has advanced three places in the ODI bowlers rankings while opener Tamim Iqbal climbed up among the batsmen after playing a key role in Bangladesh's progress to the semifinals of the Champions Trophy.

The Bangladesh skipper entered the 15th spot but southpaw Shakib Al Hasan dropped to 19th in the list, though the star Bangladesh cricketer still tops the allrounders chart.

Tamim moved a place up to 16th after hitting a century against England in the opener before smashing 95 against Australia and cracking 70 against India the semi-finals, which they lost to bow out of the quadrennial tournament.

Pakistan batsman Babar Azam leaped three spots to a career-high fifth place. India opener Rohit Sharma, who clubbed an unbeaten century against Bangladesh, moved to 10th on the list.

Pakistan seamer Hasan Ali, adjudged best player of the elite tournament with 13 wickets, surged 12 places up to be on the seventh.

The left-handed Bangladesh opener scored 293 in four matches on the way to clinch a spot in the team of the tournament as the only Bangladeshi in the 11-strong team announced on Monday.

Tamim was slotted in at number three in the star-studded selection of best players after driving his side to the maiden semi-final at a major global tournament.

Players from the champions Pakistan dominated the squad with Sarfraz Ahmed named captain of the side.

Joe Root represented semi-finalists England for his aggregate of 258 runs while Ben Stokes was rewarded for his all-round contribution.

The bowling lineup was led by Pakistan paceman Hasan Ali, who finished with 13 wickets, and his team mate Junaid Khan. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who claimed seven dismissals for India, was also named.

England's Adil Rashid was the only spinner in the squad after claiming seven wickets.

“To be appointed as captain of the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which includes some of the finest and most attractive cricketers of this generation, is the perfect icing on the cake,” Sarfraz said in an International Cricket Council statement.

Team: Shikhar Dhawan (India), Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Virat Kohli (India), Joe Root (England), Ben Stokes (England), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (captain and wicketkeeper), Adil Rashid (England), Junaid Khan (Pakistan), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India), Hasan Ali (Pakistan), Kane Williamson (New Zealand) (12th man)