Friday, April 19, 2019

Zimbabwe rebuild after Bangladesh breakthroughs

  • Anik Mishkat,
    Published: 2018-11-03 09:50:41 BdST


Zimbabwe have rebuilt after suffering several scares at the hands of the Bangladesh bowlers in the first day of the first Test in Sylhet on Saturday.

Though Zimbabwe attempted to play steadily throughout, the Tigers managed to grab wickets just as partnerships began to build steam.

Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah got the crucial wicket of Sean Williams, who had been sitting pretty at 88, in his second over since coming into the attack.

But a dogged partnership between Peter Moore and Regis Chakabva saw the visitors through to the end of play.

With the help of a half-century from captain Hamilton Masakadza, the Zimbabweans scored 236/5 in the first day of play.

Left-hander spinner Taijul Islam picked up two wickets, including that of Zimbabwe’s Brandon Taylor, one of the visitors' most dependable batsmen.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Taylor tried to block the ball but was taken by Nazmul Hossain Shanto in a superb catch that saw the visitors lose their second wicket.

Abu Jayed and Nazmul Islam have also picked up a wicket each.


Zimbabwe handed debuts to spinners Wellington Masakadza and Brandon Mavuta.  Craig Arvin, the left-hander batsman too, made it to the Test team after the one-day team.

Zimbabwe Line-Up: 1.Hamilton Masakadza (capt), 2 Brian Chari, 3 Brendan Taylor, 4 Sean Williams, 5 Sikandar Raza, 6 PJ Moor, 7 Regis Chakabva (wk), 8 Brandon Mavuta, 9 Wellington Masakadza, 10 Kyle Jarvis, 11 Tendai Chatara


Bangladesh handed debuts to middle-order batsman Ariful Haque and left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam Apu after making four changes from their last Test line-up.

Nazmul Hossain Shanto will be playing his first Test since making his debut in January 2017 while Imrul Kayes will open with Liton Das. Mushfiqur Rahim is the wicket keeper.

Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan are injured while Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Nurul Hasan were dropped from the squad due to poor form.

Bangladesh line-up:  1.Liton Das, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Nazmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Mominul Haque, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 6 Mahmudullah (capt), 7 Ariful Haque, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Taijul Islam, 10 Nazmul Islam, 11 Abu Jayed


Zimbabwe’s Hamilton Masakadza won the toss in the match and decided to bat first.

The wicket is quite dry and will slower over time in the first test, giving a boost to the spinners. Masakadza decided to choose batting on this context.

Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah said he would have chosen batting too.