Monday, October 14, 2019

West Indies clinch T20 series, beat Bangladesh by 50 runs

  • Sports Correspondent,
    Published: 2018-12-22 16:20:24 BdST

West Indies have won the 3-match T20I series against Bangladesh after beating the hosts by 50 runs in the third match of the series at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on Saturday.

Skipper Shakib Al Hasan opted to bowl first after winning the toss. West Indies were bowled out for 190 in 19.2 overs in their innings.

Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah and Mustafizur Rahman took three wickets each on behalf of their team.

In response, Bangladesh were bowled out for 140 in 17 overs. Liton Kumar Das scored 43 runs—the top scorer of the hosts. No other batsmen of Bangladesh can score above 20 except Abu Hider.

After the West Indies won the first T20I, the hosts hit back in the second, thanks to Shakib's all-round performance, to level the series.

Bangladesh wrapped up the Test and the ODI series earlier. 
Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Liton Das, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Ariful Haque, 8 Mohammad Saifuddin, 9 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 10 Abu Hider, 11 Mustafizur Rahman
West Indies: 1 Evin Lewis, 2 Shai Hope (wk), 3 Nicholas Pooran, 4 Sherfane Rutherford, 5 Shimron Hetmyer, 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Carlos Brathwaite (capt), 8 Keemo Paul, 9 Fabian Allen, 10 Oshane Thomas, 11 Sheldon Cottrell