Bangladesh win toss, bat first in 1st Test against India

  • Ariful Islam Roney,
    Published: 2019-11-14 10:17:40 BdST

Bangladesh have been forced on the back foot early in the innings after losing both their openers in quick succession in the of the two Test matches against India in Indore.

The Tigers lost their first wicket with 12 runs on the board as left-hander Imrul Kayes (6) edged an Umesh Yadav outswinger to Ajinkya Rahane at first slip.

Shadman Islam (6) followed him back to the pavilion in the very next over after he nicked an Ishant Sharma delivery to Wriddhiman Saha behind the stumps.

Bangladesh are currently 19 for 2 as skipper Mominul Haque and Mohammad Mithun attempt to steady the ship.

Earlier, the Tigers won the toss and opted to bat first on a wicket with enough grass on it to cause problems for batsmen.

This is Bangladesh's first match of the World Test Championship. It also marks Mominul's debut as captain in the longer format as Bangladesh look to upset the top-ranked Test team in the world.


Bangladesh XI: 1 Imrul Kayes, 2 Shadman, 3 Mohammad Mithun, 4 Mominul Haque (capt), 5 Mushfiqur Rahim, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Liton Das, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Taijul Islam, 10 Abu jayed, 11 Ebadot

India XI: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Mayank Agarwal, 3 Cheteshwar Pujara, 4 Virat Kohli (capt), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Ravindra Jadeja, 7 Wriddhiman Saha (wk), 8 R Ashwin, 9 Ishant Sharma, 10 Mohammad Shami, 11 Umesh Yadav