Saturday, November 25, 2017

Mahila League gets new leaders after 14 years; Safia made president, Mahmuda general secretary

  • Staff Correspondent,
    Published: 2017-03-04 20:08:45 BdST

Safia Khatun and Mahmuda Begum Creek

The ruling Awami League's women's front Mahila Awami League has got new leaders through the council held after 14 years.

Safia Khatun and Mahmuda Begum Creek have been made the president and general secretary respectively of the organisation.

Safia was a vice-president of the 14-year-old committee while Mahmuda was an MP from women's reserved seat and a secretary of the previous committee.

The names of the new leaders were announced in the council inaugurated by Awami League chief Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in Dhaka's Krishibid Institute Auditorium on Saturday.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader also announced the committees for the Mahila League's Dhaka Metropolitan North and South units.

Shahida Tareq Dipti has become the president of Dhaka North unit and Shabnam Shila general secretary. Sabera Begum bagged the post of president of Dhaka South unit and Nargis Rahman general secretary.

Obaidul Quader said Hasina selected the new leaders from names proposed by the council.

After being formed on July 6, 2002, the last council of the organisation was held on Jul 12 the next year. Ashrafunnesa Mosharraf was made the president and Fazilatunnesa Indira general secretary at the time. Pinu Khan was made acting general secretary later.